Since 2012, the BAKE Awards has recognized and awarded exceptional Kenyan bloggers in different categories every year. It is organized by the Bloggers Association of Kenya (BAKE).

The competition is the only one that honours and showcases the best in Kenyan blogging.

The competition has grown year on year and in 2019, over 15,000 blogs were entered into the competition and over 1 million votes were recorded.

The competition’s categories range from fashion to health to photography. There is also a category for corporates. It is open to all Kenyans and brands that operate in Kenya.

The competition begins with a submission phase and thereafter judges will choose the best 5 from the submissions. The public will then vote for the best blog in each category.

Past winners of the Kenyan Blog Awards include: Mutua Matheka (mutuamatheka.co.ke), Silvia Njoki (silvianjoki.com), Wambui Waithaka (wambuiwaithaka.com), Sharon Mundia (thisisess.com), Jackson Biko (bikozulu.co.ke), Sam Wakoba (techmoran.com), Dennis Machio (michezoafrica.com) and Limo Taboi (bankelele.co.ke).

Past judges of the competition have included: Pinky Ghelani, Philip Mwaniki, Ahmed Salim, Erik Hersman, Juliana Rotich, Joel Macharia, Naomi Wanjiru, Grace Makosewe, Lynda Nyangweso and Mbugua Njihia.

Important links

History – bakeawards.co.ke/history
Rules – bakeawards.co.ke/rules
Categories – bakeawards.co.ke/categories
Timeline – bakeawards.co.ke/timeline